Thinking allowed

New Liturgical Commission

The Litur­gic­al Com­mis­sion of the Church of Eng­land has a five year term, and the term of the present Com­mis­sion ends on 31 March 2016. The mem­ber­ship of the new Com­mis­sion has now been pub­lished on the Church of Eng­land web­site here.

The Bish­op of Exeter

The Bish­op of Sod­or and Man

Ms Shayne Ardron
The Revd Can­on Dr Andrew Atherstone
The Revd Philip Barnes
The Revd Mark Earey
Ms Kash­mir Garton
The Revd Can­on Dr Chris­toph­er Irvine
The Revd Can­on Dr Simon Jones
Mr Simon Kershaw
The Revd George Lane
Mrs Lucy Moore
Dr Brid­get Nichols
The Revd Can­on Dr Jo Spreadbury
The Revd Can­on Dr Samuel Wells

The Com­mis­sion is a per­man­ent Com­mis­sion of the Gen­er­al Syn­od of the Church of Eng­land. It has a four-fold purpose:

  • to pre­pare forms of ser­vice at the request of the House of Bishops
  • to advise on the exper­i­ment­al use of forms of ser­vice and the devel­op­ment of liturgy
  • to exchange inform­a­tion and advice on litur­gic­al mat­ters with oth­er Churches both in the Anglic­an Com­mu­nion and elsewhere
  • to pro­mote the devel­op­ment and under­stand­ing of liturgy and its use in the Church.

I under­stand that the main focus for the next five years will be to encour­age bet­ter stand­ards in the pre­par­a­tion and con­duct of wor­ship. I hope to be able to provide reg­u­lar updates on the work of the new Commission.


  • Canon Glyn Conway says:

    More of a ques­tion than a com­ment; I value the refrains for the psalms in CW Daily Pray­er. Who is the mod­ern day Cran­mer who com­posed these?

  • Simon Kershaw says:

    The refrains ori­gin­ated in “Cel­eb­rat­ing Com­mon Pray­er”, the book pro­duced by mem­bers of the then Litur­gic­al Com­mis­sion in con­junc­tion with the Soci­ety of St Francis.

    I think they were throughly revised for CWDP, with sev­er­al mem­bers of the com­mis­sion tak­ing a batch of psalms each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *